Pay It Forward

My fellow Palmyra resident Joseph and I recently had a one-on-one discussion about our extremely similar personalities.

“I displayed the weakness of youth, and the foilbles of human nature…I was guilty of levity, and sometimes associated with jovial company, etc., not consistent with that character which ought to be maintained by one who was called of God as I had been. But this will not seem very strange to any one who recollects my youth, and is acquainted with my native cheery temperament…in consequence of these things, I often felt condemned for my weakness and imperfections.” -Joseph Smith

As you probably already know, I get excited about everything. Anything anyone tells me is extremely interesting. I don’t take many things very seriously, and I know that everything will always be okay–that He will always make everything work out. In reading Joseph’s account of his self-examination, I’ve found myself doing the same thing, and concluding the same thoughts. A woman from my last ward (Brockport) said something I’ll never forget: “A coach isn’t going to yell at someone he’s going to cut.” Same thing with God. Furthermore, I’ve started the repentance process of my “jovial” nature, and have tried to be more of a mature servant of the Lord. But it doesn’t mean I have to be boring! I just need to take things more seriously. Because this is serious business…it’s eternal life! I’m just really glad I’ve got someone of that caliber to relate to.

Brittany is all set to walk into the font on Saturday.  Aubrie (every missionary’s dream member) took Brittany to dinner on Friday night before they came to the chapel together to have another lesson. Sister Steel and I decided to pull out all of the big guns at once–Law of Chastity, Word of Wisdom, Sabbath Day observance, and the Law of Tithing. It was such an entertaining, but spirit-filled lesson. Anytime we ever tell her any principle of the gospel or commandment, she looks at us like we’re totally crazy. But then always says, “Well of course, that makes total sense. I have no choice but to keep it.” Last night, she told us she was so tired at church on Sunday because she stayed up all night reading the Book of Mormon. I told her, “After Saturday, all you have to do is endure to the end!” She turned around and quickly said, “No, Sister Hawkes, I’m going to dance to the end.” She takes everything with confidence and complete trust in God…even though three weeks ago she had no idea what the name “Christ” even meant. Brittany embodies the phrase, “golden investigator.” Psh, we didn’t even do anything. We just happened to be the missionaries in the area, working hard, at the time she was introduced to the gospel. No effort is wasted!

Speaking of paying, Sister Steel and I recently have had some incredible companion studies which were very much inspired. Have you heard the phrase, “pay it forward?” That is the essence of the Atonement of Jesus Christ. There is no way in the Universe that we could ever “pay back” our Savior for what He did. With that in mind, we have to pay everything forward. What are we doing thinking of ever going “backward” for anything? Even if you’re sitting still on the fence, maybe even with your hat over your head like Martin Harris when he told Joseph about the 116 pages, you’re considered in backwards mode. We must move forward constantly. Every little commandment we keep, every little guideline we follow are like thank-you notes to God. They aren’t restrictive in any way; they are enabling in every way. Joseph thought about this concept long before we did:

“Brethren, shall we not go on in so great a cause? Go forward and not backward. Courage, brethren; and on, on to the victory!” -D&C 128:22

To finish up this week’s news…transfer calls came last night! It was probably the most dramatic transfer call yet…just because we could make it dramatic. It makes it that much more hilarious when all four of you sit around the phone while brushing your teeth extra hard because all you can think about is your short-lived destiny. Our ringtone for the Zone Leaders are crickets chirping, and the ringtone for President is, “GONG…GONG…” So naturally, that’s what we were waiting for. The crickets went off finally at 11 p.m., and our poor neighbors downstairs must have thought we were practicing our martial arts for a few minutes. Sister Steel is going full-proselyting out to Buffalo, and I’m getting Sister Gillespie…Sister West is going to my first area (Newark South) and Sister Noble is getting Sister Van Geenen! What a party; I can’t even wait. Except I’m really going to miss Sister Steel! After three transfers, we’re like a part of each other now. (Especially since she’s my mission daughter!) She’ll be incredible in full-proselyting.

I’m going to give everything I have for these last six weeks. It’s going to go by so fast!

BE HAPPY!

Hermana Hawkes

 

Leave a Reply

