Two by Two

The biggest question I had last year was:

How do I show You that I love You?

Well, God is our loving Heavenly Father. He continues to give us revelation to cater to our everyday needs as His children. What if my mom and dad only wrote me one letter at the beginning of my mission, and that was it? Personally, I really like getting letters from them…and especially getting letters from my Heavenly Father. That’s exactly what continuing revelation is. He still wants us to know that He is very much alive, and it’s very convenient when I have tons of questions for my Father. He definitely showed me the answer to this question…in more than once place.

“Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost.” -Matthew 28:19, The Bible

I can do that! What exactly do I do?

“…We have entered into their houses and taught them, and we have taught them in their streets; yea, and we have taught them upon their hills…and we have suffered all manner of afflictions, and all this, that perhaps we might be the means of saving some soul; and we supposed that our joy would be full if perhaps we could be the means of saving some.” -Alma 26:29-30, The Book of Mormon

How do You want me to do that?

“And ye shall go forth in the power of my Spirit, preaching my gospel two by two, in my name, lifting up your voices as with the sound of a trump, declaring my word like unto angels of God.” -Doctrine and Covenants 42:6, Pearl of Great Price

I’ve had four wonderful companions in the mission field so far, and I get a new one on Tuesday. (I will really miss Sister Johnson.) We wake up at the same time, study at the same time, eat at the same time, and go to bed at the same time. But most importantly, we teach the gospel at the same time, in the same place. We teach together with the love Heavenly Father has given us. I have grown to love each girl I’ve served with because of her own individual reasons to serve a mission, and especially her desire to love our Father. We strive to have His Spirit with us at all times, so people will recognize us as direct representatives of Jesus Christ, Himself.

Even though we go two by two, we have grown to love all of the missionaries we serve with as our own family. Once a Sister…always my sister.

IMG_0976

Me & Sister Graham

Sister Butters & Sister Adams
Sister Butters & Sister Adams

meandcorreia

Sister Correia & me

IMG_1215

Sister Crook & Sister Adams

IMG_0014

Sister Torres & me

meandjohnson

Sister Johnson & me

 

3 thoughts on “Two by Two

  1. That was very touching Monica, such passion for our Lord Jesus Christ, it is a beautiful experience, for He makes us beautiful, yet unique in many different ways. He gave you a beautiful heart with passion to serve others, and that smile, that smile could is priceless. Thanks for sharing:D

    Many blessings from above,

      • Blessings,
        However, I must say thank you very much:) Continue to seek His face in all you do. As I continue to see the wisdom and growth in your writing I am truly amazed!

        The depths of God’s wisdom and love are infinite my friend. Maybe one day I will reveal to you how truly close you can be to God in a greater, more powerful way. A way that many Christians never experience in their life.

        I see your zeal and sincerity in your service to the Lord Jesus Christ which is admirable. Furthermore, to tap into the power I am speaking of will leave you in awe.

        Many blessings to you and yours, I am praying for you, keep smiling girl for it is mesmerizing:)

Leave a Reply

