“Look to your Mother”

“My dear young women, with all my heart I urge you not to look to contemporary culture for your role models and mentors. Please look to your faithful mothers for a pattern to follow. Model yourselves after them, not after celebrities whose standards are not the Lord’s standards and whose values may not reflect an eternal perspective. Look to your mother. Learn from her strengths, her courage, and her faithfulness. Listen to her. She may not be a whiz at texting; she may not even have a Facebook page. But when it comes to matters of the heart and the things of the Lord, she has a wealth of knowledge. As you approach the time for marriage and young motherhood, she will be your greatest source of wisdom. No other person on earth loves you in the same way or is willing to sacrifice as much to encourage you and help you find happiness—in this life and forever.” -Elder M. Russell Ballard

Underground of the Salt Lake Temple, ready to receive my endowment. April 19, 2012

 

As a matter of fact…both my mothers have a facebook page and can text! But that’s beside the point. My mom and her mom are two women that have already figured out how to conquer the world. Not only did my grandmother raise three children that weren’t her own, (along with the four that were hers) she took on a complete life change when she met my grandfather and raised them all in South America. That example helped my mother know that there was no such thing as “impossible,” when it came time to take on children of her own, and keep her job at ESPN. I couldn’t have asked for two better role-models to help me figure out my own life map and letting me know it’s okay get through the mundane things of life with a great attitude. But most importantly, they kept Jesus Christ throughout every decision made along the way. And that is something I will never forget.

3 thoughts on ““Look to your Mother”

      • All I can say to that is “Blessed be the name of the Lord” “Blessed be the name of the Lord”, Most High. The name of the Lord is our strong tower..

        Yes, it is a true blessing when you have the love of a mother, and grandmother as a canopy to instill fruit, love, and virtue of a loving Father into your own life.

        Your smile could lighten up any room, you are a blessing to me and many others. I am having a wonderful day as I am hoping you are as well.

        The weather keeps surprising us here in the great land of Kansas. It has actually snowed the last couple of days:) I couldn’t imagine how it is in NEW YORK.

        I pray the Father showers you with all His blessings,

Leave a Reply

