Heaven on Earth

“You guys are more than missionaries. You guys are truly great friends, and thank you so much for being here for me…I’ve never felt so much love in a friendship. :)” -Steph…text message on Sunday night!
 
Whatever else I say, this week has to top it all. Steph got BAPTIZED! And you wouldn’t believe how much Satan did not want it to happen. I would tell you all of the stories that happened within 2 hours that Sunday morning, but I’ll save you. If you really want to know you can ask me later. Let’s just say we get a text from Steph right when Sacrament Meeting starts: “I’m on my way to the emergency room…” HA. Doesn’t stop there…Corey the one who was baptizing Steph, was out in the hall with his head up against a wall in so much pain from his wrestling tournament the day before. Then we got news from the ward mission leader that she couldn’t be confirmed that day, it had to wait two weeks…it was crazy. However, after praying the hardest I’ve ever prayed in my life, everything came through. Perfectly. Steph had an infection from getting her wisdom teeth out three days previous, and apparently she told the doctor that there was nothing he would do to stop her from being at the church to get baptized that afternoon. Ahh, the sweet smell of chlorine has never smelled so good to me before. The actual moment she got dunked, I knew I wouldn’t forget that picture in my mind for the rest of my life. The smile on her face had absolutely no words to describe, and I’ll be honest…I was practically in tears from smiling so big. We ran back to the dressing room and gave her a huge hug–I’ve never been so happy to have my Sunday clothes soaked.
 
I think that’s my biggest news of the week. Let me check…yep. We had a specialized training with President last week in Batavia which was awesome as always; Sister Torres and I taught a training on the Holy Ghost. Today, we got to change our P-day to Tuesday this week to go to Niagra Falls with a less-active member in our ward…and her non-member husband. It was six degrees! Then finally it went up to ten, and stayed at ten. But it was SO NEAT! There was pretty much no one there, because there were ice chunks flying into our faces from the falls. But hey, when you’re a missionary, you only have so much time to do these things. It was so worth it. Mostly, it was great to have that kind of time with people who truly needed the Savior in their lives.
 
We also had a funeral of a ward member this week. We had been visiting their family for awhile, so it was sad to see them in that capacity. However, it was a good time to reflect on the Plan of Salvation and how much of an influence those who have already passed on are in our mortal lives. It made me think a lot of my Grandma and Grandpa Hawkes. They devoted their lives to this service, and I have no doubt that they are working harder than I am right now. I know for a fact that they are right here with me and encouraging me to talk to everyone that I can. I hope that all of you, sometime this week, think of the Plan of Happiness and how it can bless your life. You’ve all had close people pass through, and I can’t imagine anything more tough than having to attend a father or a mother’s funeral. But the only reason that happens, is because Heavenly Father sees the big picture. There’s a puzzle that we don’t have all of the pieces to yet, and we are only seeing it piece by piece…because it’s as much as we can handle as human beings. No matter how hard it may be, try to reflect on the memories and build them into something, so that the Lord can use them however He needs to use them.
 
There’s a picture attatched of us at Niagra Falls, and of course, me and Steph. This would be the caption to that picture: “And if it so be that you should labor all your days in crying repentance unto this people, and bring, save it be one soul unto me, how great shall be your joy with him in the kingdom of my Father!” -Doctrine and Covenants 18:15.
 
Just another great week in the life of Sister Hawkes, and hopefully we’ll have the same good news next week for Anne’s baptism! It’s looking great!
 
BE HAPPY!
 
Hermana Hawkes
Leave a Reply

