Humility

Is it P-day already? Weeks go by SO FAST. But days go by sooo slooowww.

 
Good news–this week we have three more new investigators! It’s amazing what the Lord puts in your path when you’re working hard to obey Him. Imagine that!
We were going through our area book to find potentials and we came across a guy named Mark. We called him and he accepted us to come over, then actually tracted his house a couple of days before not knowing it was him, then a couple of days after that was the first appointment! And even better news, he had two friends over when we got there. Coincidence? I think not! We all sat down and had a fantastic lesson. His friends were already so open and humble with what they were thinking, not even knowing that missionaries were coming over. We had a great 45 minute lesson about the Restoration of the Gospel of Jesus Christ and they all said they were looking for something more. We set a return appointment for Thursday–with all of them. The huge lesson I got out of that myself, was actually how humble they were to be willing to share the desires of their hearts with us, and already knew that they needed to change. Humility has been on my mind ever since. That just shows us how willing we have to be to give up our desires to God. I’ve gotten a taste of it in missionary work: All we want to do is grab our investigators by the shoulder and say, ” trust us! Hello, we’re not stupid! This can save your life! But yet, they have the free agency to do whatever they want. Doesn’t God think the exact same thing about us?
At the Smith Farm on Sunday, a guy (we’ll call him John) about 25 years old came in with an older man (we’ll call him George) from one of the Syracuse wards. Sister Chatterton, our site trainer, took them both on tour. She came back with the biggest eyes and told us why they were both here. Apparently a few days ago John was talking to a member of the church without knowing he was a member and said, “You know what I want? I want to find out what to believe for myself. I just want to find the true church that Jesus Christ set up, restored to the earth today.” As you would imagine I’m sure he jumped out of his chair and said “THIS IS IT!” Long story short–the member told John where the closest congregation of the LDS church was, and he showed up right on time dressed perfectly. He met George there and George told him that the historic sites where the church was actually restored was just a couple hours away. George invited him to go sometime this week, and John said, “well why don’t we just go right now?” So then that’s when I met them and they pulled up to the Smith Farm–just two hours previous. Sister Chatterton’s tour was fantastic and I’m excited to hear what eventually happens with John! Little miracles like that keep us going every single day at the Visitors’ Center. It’s a challenge in it’s own to be at the HCVC, because we don’t have 5 seconds to prepare a lesson for the people walking in. We have to discern their needs quickly, and then the Lord can pull from our bank of gospel knowledge to find something to teach them. When we are proselyting missionaries, we have at least a few hours to come up with something! But here at the sites, it’s within seconds. It’s so exciting that way, and looking back on whatever I taught someone, I can definitely see the Lord’s hand in His work.
Just when I think I can’t get more happy, I do. I’m going to be honest, there are times when Sister Correia and I just want to fall over and quit right there on the sidewalk. But at the end of the day when I thank my Father for everything he’s done that day for me–wow it adds up to much more than I could ever thank Him for. What other time in my life can I spend this much time in such a sacred place? I am (again) humbled, and have (again) realized that nothing is about me at all. Absolutely nothing. That reminds me of the scripture in Matthew 16:25, “For whosoever will save his life shall lose it, and whosoever shall lose his life for my sake, shall find it.”
Thanks for all of your prayers and letters, I promise I’m getting back to you all soon! I am SO EXCITED that Nicole is going on study abroad to Jerusalem–two siblings in places where the gospel started, and where it was restored. That’s a blessing! I hope you all have a wonderful first week of school. Sarah and Jake–don’t forget to sharpen your pencils! 🙂
BE HAPPY!
Sister Hawkes
Leave a Reply

