Keep on Swimming! … or walking

This week has been a challenge.

We’ve had lots of tours at the sites, and not a lot of time in our area. Which makes me kinda sad. I want so badly to be knocking doors, going house to house, and just introducing myself to people! However. The sites can get really fun. We do meet a TON of people a day. But during the Summer, there are so many members on family vacations here. We do our best to strengthen their testimony of our Savior, Jesus Christ!

We did get a new investigator, though! His name is Steve. He’s wonderful…I can tell already. He has read the Bible forwards and backwards and has zero religious background. We introduced him to the Book of Mormon and he was super excited that there was another testament of Christ! So hopefully he reads it by Friday. In those small conversations we have with people, those are the rewarding times. God knows I’m doing a greater work for Him and I can feel Him rewarding me for that.

I’m sorry this e-mail is going to be short. We don’t have a lot of time. In fact, we will not have a Preparation Day for a few weeks because of the Pageant! So if I don’t e-mail you, don’t freak out. I already don’t have enough time to think! But I SO much appreciate all the letters I’ve been sent. They really make my day and support me more than you think! Especially this week. I’ve had to pick myself up a lot. (Surprising, I know. 🙂 My companion has been pretty sick and I think that was most of it. It just goes to show that the Lord’s work is a two-person job! You can’t do anything in life without someone there to help you up. Whether that be a friend, a spouse, or even Jesus Christ. I’ve gotten so close to Sister Correia this week and I think that’s been the biggest blessing. There are lots of challenges in missionary work, but it’s all worth it. 🙂 I love her as my own sister. We get along so well.

Anyway, this morning we went on a 3-hour Sacred Grove tour with Bob the grove keeper! It was just us and another companionship. It was INCREDIBLE. I can’t wait to take you guys back there. There literally was 3 hours worth of amazing information about the grove…don’t worry, I wrote it all down! You’re going to love all these tours that I’ll take you on in a couple years. I’ve only been here a couple weeks, and the stories upon stories I’ve learned make the Joseph Smith story that much miraculous. I can’t wait to show it to my family!

Well, time has run out. We are going to the temple today for the first time in Palmyra, and we’ve got lots of Cast Training to do for the Pageant. I don’t usually ask for things, but keep us NYRM missionaries in your prayers. We’re going to need it the next month. Thank you for all of your prayers already…I can feel them! You all are the best. I couldn’t ask for anything better. Love you all.

BE HAPPY!

Sister Hawkes

Leave a Reply

